Thing 14: Graduate MSc

While I still insist this was kind of cheating as I pretty much knew this was happening, I’ve completed a 30before30 and in July 2014 I graduated with a distinction in Information and Library Studies from Robert Gordon University!

Graduation selfie - pre-ceremony with the parents, boyfriend, and housemate.

Graduation selfie – pre-ceremony with the parents, boyfriend, and housemate.

 

The moment itself! Getting a bop on the head from the principal (no, I don't understand either) and receiving a cardboard scroll.

The moment itself! Getting a bop on the head from the principal (no, I don’t understand either) and receiving a cardboard scroll.

The university were kind enough not only to pass me with a distinction (you what?!) but they also gave me the Dorothy Williams award for my dissertation and its (apparent) contribution to information literacy/education. My dissertation was an evaluation of RHUL’s new discovery system in contrast to our traditional WebOPAC, using skills and opinions of undergraduates and academic staff in our Media Arts, Drama & Theatre and English Lit departments. It was tough. But it was worth it. I already find myself thinking about what kind of research I might do in the future… uh oh!

You don't want to know how long it took me to catch that thing.

You don’t want to know how long it took me to catch that thing.

 

Like a good librarian, I tweeted the day, and have just Storified it for your viewing, as the support I got from everyone was totally lovely.
A very rewarding day, a great dinner, my favourite people, and thank gods it’s over! Onto new things 😀
Since graduating, I was asked to write a short newsletter article on my experience by the lovely chap I sat next to throughout the ceremony  – thanks very much, and all the best, Philip. I also volunteered to take part in this great cpd25 event on applying to Library school, where I gave a short presentation on my time at RGU and sat on a panel with other wonderful graduates and students and talked about our experiences. Many, many thanks to Pete Williams for the opportunity. I’ve also submitted a poster based on my dissertation to the LILAC conference in 2015 – wish me luck!
OK, so I’m ticking off Thing 14 4 months too late 🙂 Another one done.
Leave a Reply

