Thing 28: Operation Chocolate Fondant

I’ll admit it, I watch a lot of Masterchef. And at least once every elimination round, someone will choose to wow the judges with a chocolate fondant. Each and every time, there’s a collective gasp from the judges. ‘Not a chocolate fondant!’ we cry. ‘Don’t they know how difficult that is?’ ‘I thought isolating the Higgs Boson was going to be hard, but… a chocolate fondant?!’

And yet, every single time (in my memory, which is as scientific as it gets, clearly) the chocolate fondant bounces out of the oven and oozes seductively over the plate, eliciting gasps and (chocolate – geddit?) brownie points from all concerned. ‘This person is clearly a culinary genius!’ they shout. ‘For surely no-one has ever made a successful chocolate fondant before. All hail…’

Yeah, sure. Apart from every bugger to grace the Masterchef kitchens. Sounds so difficult, I reckon even an idiot like me can make one. And so, I’ve decided to begin 30 Before 30 with the chocolate fondant challenge. And we’ll see if I’m laying it all on a bit thick…

Take One. I’m using Nigella’s Molten Chocolate Babycakes recipe, because it was number 5 on the list when I googled ‘chocolate fondant’, and I trust Nigella to make things as effortless as possible. Also, I halved it because there’s only two of us in the house at the moment, and while I’m sure someone once told me halving baking recipes willy-nilly is a dangerous affair: I like to live on the edge.

Onto the pictures!

These are my ingredients. If for some reason you want to listen to me instead of Nigella above, please remember this is half of the real recipe and makes only three little fondants.

IMG_2462[1]

After buttering three tiny pudding tins and putting a circle of baking paper in the bottom (top?) of each, I started by melting lots of lovely chocolate, and adding 25g butter to 175g caster sugar. Then I spent about 10 minutes wishing I’d let the butter get to room temperature first. Super top tip, that (maybe where all those Masterchef contestants went wrong?).

choc

Eventually we got it to behave, then added two beaten eggs, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 75g flour. It was a terrifying batter that just looked horrible and eggy until the chocolate was added. Then it immediately became heavy – or it was seizing up… Here it is going into three little pudding tins.

IMG_2466[1]

So then the tiny pots went in the fridge for most of the day until we’d had dinner. Until this point, I was pretty calm, feeling pretty smug about the situation. What could go wrong? I yell at the TV weekly that Masterchef contestants are doing it wrong, so I must know what I’m talking about, right? It wasn’t until they went in the oven that the tension set in. What if they didn’t work? How cocky could I be without deserving some sort of karma?

200 degrees C, straight in the oven from the fridge, for 12 minutes.

The moment of truth…

IMG_2472[1]

They worked! To be honest, they started sinking as soon as they were put on the plate, but ha! Take that, Masterchef! I will forever be unimpressed by your chocolate fondant-ing. Although I probably shouldn’t pretend I can make my own pastry, or macaroons, or anything too hard… We ate them with raspberries (and some of us with ice cream) and they were SO rich. Very much worth it. Cheers,  Nigella. I knew you wouldn’t let me down.

28. Make a chocolate fondant.

Thing 28 is done. The first thing ticked off the list. (And I haven’t quite finished my real target of a Masters dissertation yet. Yet!) 29 things to go.

What else should I learn to cook?

_kimguin x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

