How to make time for NaNoWriMo 2011 (or not)

I just read this post* and asked myself “So, am I doing NaNoWriMo this year?”

My immediate reaction: *laughsnort* As if.

I’m busy. I have a full time job. I’m studying for my MSc on the side. I have to visit my parents and boyfriend at the weekends. I’m trying to remember to go swimming once a week. I have to buy food for the house and then quite often cook it as well. And I’d like to be able to read a normal book once in a while as well!

At the same time, however, I want to keep writing. It’s one of the few things I feel I really ought to put the effort into. It’s my own thing. No-one else is checking up on me, and it’s a thing I feel I can do (as vain as that sounds). But it’s equally a thing that requires a ton of practice. But not necessarily a ton of time.

I could:

  • get up early and write before breakfast
  • watch less TV in the evenings (apart from Sunday nights at 9pm) and write before bed
  • lock myself in a room at work and write during my lunchbreak
  • dictate to my phone in the car on the way to work, parents’ and boyfriend’s houses

I probably will:

  • end up doing none of the above
  • think about what I want to write while driving, swimming, making dinner
  • take half an hour each day and try to plan something
  • take another half hour the day after and type and type until that plan is on paper
  • forget until November 17th… and start again

And at the end of it, I won’t have a novel. But I’ll have worked on this idea that’s been in my head for a while and dedicated some sort of attention to it. Then, one day, when I don’t have study/job/driving/cooking/eating to do – I’ll write the novel!

But not this month. Sorry, November. Besides, I always liked writing poetry better. Bring on April!

Good luck to everyone working on NaNoWriMo this year! May you be organised, prolific and successful.

*You should read this post if nothing else but for the beautiful calendar! This is such a good idea.

7 thoughts on “How to make time for NaNoWriMo 2011 (or not)

  1. One word: likewise. And besides – in my opinion – if you want to do something you should just make the effort and do it, or else quit moaning (not you, Kim, the Collective You). This is also why I can’t bear Lent. But that’s another rant.

    Be with you in spirit on Sundays, 9pm!

  2. I enjoyed this post. It reminded me a lot of myself, minus the boyfriend.
    I am also working full time at a grocery store and am taking a year off from college to rack in some cash.
    When I was a junior in high school, this girl brought her laptop everyday for the month of November and she always tapped so loudly during class. I hated her for it, but now I realize why she was doing it. She mentioned NaNoWriMo, but I refused to be dragged into something an annoying person could like. If that makes sense… but I was young at the time so everything annoyed me 😛

    I’m pumped for NaNoWriMo and I believe that you can do it if you just push yourself that one bit. Have yourself sit in front of your computer screen for 5 minutes, get up and do something, sit down for another five minutes. Eventually, you will begin to write.

    Good luck and I hope to read some of your work soon (:

    -Harley Davis.

  3. Pingback: 24 Hours until All Heck Breaks Loose?! “Beautiful Torture” Or @NaNoWriMo.org here I come! #amreading #NaNoWriMo | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

    • You’re welcome – it was such an interesting post, and I love your calendar! It’s motivating a ‘too busy’ person like me to re-consider.
      Mostly, though – good luck! Will you be sharing with your blog?

  4. Pingback: Oh no, Poetry « Post-grad Panopticon

Leave a Reply

