Last night at 11.45pm I couldn’t go to sleep because of iambic pentameter

I saw an angel by the railway track
And she waved and she smiled but she never looked back
As she hopped off the platform and with the tiniest feet,
Along the cold iron bars she began to creep.

Her pace picked up, and she ran and she flew,
Until cartwheeling away she sped out of view.
I leapt down to the ground and I followed her route,
Rushing and stumbling, I did not want to lose.

When all of a sudden I heard a familiar lowing,
And as I turned away from where the girl had been going,
I saw the bright light of a locomotive train,
I and knew that my chase had all been in vain.

And before I could turn back to where the angel had been
-\\\\

Leave a Reply

