Why make another blog?

Well, while it’s rather late in the day for me to jump on the ‘Oh my god I graduated, now what?’ blogging bandwagon, I felt as though I should give it a go. Just because all of my creative writing ‘colleagues’, as it were, have one, I feel as though I’m missing out. And I’m not too ashamed to admit that. However, I also don’t think it’s that bad an idea. Imagine if I could get into the habit of recording the things that happen to me, sharing my opinions – dare I say, my voice – with others, then perhaps I could get into the habit of writing something longer-lasting, something which really actually could be read and which could speak?

The only way to become a writer is to write. And so here is my start.

I’d like to be able to share everything that happens to me, and all the thoughts that I have. Hence the name. One definition of ‘panopticon’ is a place where everything is seen, and I’d like that to be what this is about. So here is my blogging manifesto. To include any and all writings, snippets, thoughtlets and processes which would otherwise be lost between the cover of my Moleskine. To include photographs, reflections, memories, worries – anything to do with normal life. When these two become too great to co-habit, perhaps I can split the writing off into it’s own little prison-panopticon, but until then let’s just get the practice right.

One thought on “Why make another blog?

Leave a Reply

